Drones, these metal allies |Slate.fr
By akademiotoelektronik, 28/09/2022

Drones, these metal allies |Slate.fr

Reading time: 5 min

Since September 11, 2001, for ten years, the United States has designed a drone forceaerian to fight against their new enemies.Faced with desterrorists ready to kill anyone, we have built machines that chase and kill, but do not bleed.

Over the next few years, we could be more and more dependent on the people and their spies, and this for another reason: we lose Desmit.

Since September 11, the fleet of American drones has gone from a few dozen to 7.000.The Air Force now forms more drivers to maneuver drones than bombers or hunters.Espoise drone flights were intensive in Afghanistan and Iraq, where we have waged ground fighting.But drones have been particularly useful in Pakistan, where we cannot send Decrupses.

At each intervention of the American land forces on its territory (the highest being that carried out within the framework of the raid which killed Osama bin Laden), Pakistan was furious.Yet these last five years, the Pakistani leaders have tolerated strikes of American drones, which killed nearly 2.000 insurgents in the country's border provinces.In fact, since the raid against bin Laden, these strikes have intensified and generalized.

Hand with the drone war, the role of the CIA has been reinforced.Like the latter, the CIA is invisible.It can chase and kill in a country without sapresence being official.While the army uses our drones in Afghanistan, the CIA uses Pakistan.It seems that we have been authorized to launcher to our drone missions in Pakistan from bases located within the country.

But this situation could change.The raid against bin Laden, as well as a deadly incident involving an American agent within Pakistan, have weakened the relationship between the United States and Pakistan.Rather than investigating the Pakistani agents that may have helped to house Bin Laden, Pakistan arrested people it suspected of having helped the United States to set up the raid.It also ended an American program intended to train Pakistani troops to Lutter against Al-Qaida.And the CIA discovered that insurgents were informed of the discussions of distribution between the United States and Pakistan.

Les drones, ces alliés de métal | Slate.fr

The unit states are therefore preparing to continue the fight against terrorism without the help of Dupakistan.The spare solution is to transfer our drones to basesafghanes and to Les them to Pakistan from these bases.When we withdraw from Afghanistan, we would launch our drones in place.We could thus continue to fight against Al-Qaida in the two countries, even without manssur the ground.

The same scenario is played in Yemen.With the decline, then the death of Bin Laden, Al-Qaidadans the Arabian peninsula, led by the radical Islamist Anwar Al-Awlaki, became the conductor of conspiracy against the United States.The Yemen regime, like that of Pakistan, prefers to see us fight against Cetennemi with drones only with land forces.

Until only, it was the American army that waged drone war in Yemen.But the latter made several mistakes.First, it has poorly identified a target and killed a Yemeni emissary.She then tried threereprises to reach Anwar Al-Awlak, without success.But the main problem knows the collapse of the Yemeni regime, which has destroyed the collaboration with the American forces.Its political proposters want to take power and put an end to American military operations.

The United States is therefore preparing to follow the same non-health strategy.They are new CIA officers in Yemen and charge the agency of a reinforced military action by sending drones since the outside.

Legally speaking, the American army needs the consent of the government concerned to wage a drone war.Not the CIA.The war can be hidden the euphemism of information operations and "secret intervention".Yemen also needs to shelter drones.We can make them pass the border from the air, as in Pakistan.We are already launching drone Desmissions on Yemen from Djibouti.

According to some reports, we are currently building a CIAbase outside Duyémen, which we could wage a war of drones in this country, without sounds.The American authorities hold the exact location of the secret Labase, but it would be logical that it be in Saudi Arabia, where the drone information collection network will be located.The base could accommodate a larger drone fleet than that of Djibouti aerodrome, where the capacity of the tracks has restricted the number of drone missions.

We also send drones to Libya.But we lead an open conflict in this country, in concert with NATO, unlike ouractivities in Pakistan and Yemen, which are clandestine.We use Desdrones rather than ground troops.We do not even send pilots pilot would get down.We charge the CIA to wage war so as not to have to respect the laws in this area.And we build bases outside the country to be able to control the entire remote operation, with a collection of information on targets, the CIA of which is responsible.

Percouron everything, we name the former director of the CIA, Leon Panetta, at the head of the American army.And the commander of the internal forces in Afghanistan, David Petraeus, at the head of the CIA.CIA and drones are the team of the future.They are the new face of a faceless war.

There is noisy of diabolical in there.It is a logical evolution.With its network of terrorist cells widespread within decline states, Al-Qaida Estune Organization designed to escape the conventional practices of Laguerre.We in turn evolve to fight against this new threat.

In a world where political chaos reigns, where American power is endeclin, unstable allies, friends who are not trustworthy and enemies obey any rule, we develop a new form of war that we can carry out for regional air bases, with machines to be tutor in the air supplied by secret human networks in the field.What is frightening is not that it can work, but that it does not nearch.

Williamsaletan

Translated by Charlotte Laigle

Readings recommended by the author:

Tags:

Les drones, ces alliés de métal | Slate.fr
Par amk, 28/09/2022

Les drones, ces alliés de métal | Slate.fr

Temps de lecture: 5 min

Depuis le 11septembre 2001, soit depuis dix ans, les Etats-Unis ont conçu une forceaérienne de drones pour lutter contre leurs nouveaux ennemis. Face à desterroristes prêts à tuer n’importe qui, nous avons construit des machines qui pourchassent et tuent, mais ne saignent pas.

Au cours desdix prochaines années, nous pourrions être de plus en plus dépendants desdrones et de leurs espions, et ce pour une autre raison : nous perdons desamis.

Depuis le 11septembre, la flotte de drones américains est passée de quelques dizaines à 7.000. L’armée de l’air forme désormaisplus de pilotes à manœuvrer des drones que des bombardiers ou des chasseurs.Les vols de drones espions ont été intensifs en Afghanistan et en Irak, où nousavons mené des combats au sol. Mais les drones ont été particulièrement utiles au Pakistan, où nous ne pouvons pas envoyer detroupes.

A chaqueintervention des forces terrestres américaines sur son territoire (la plusrécente étant celle menée dans le cadre du raid qui a tué Oussama Ben Laden), le Pakistan a été furieux. Pourtantces cinq dernières années, les dirigeants pakistanais ont toléré des frappes de drones américains, qui ont tué près de 2.000 insurgés dans les provinces frontalières du pays.En fait, depuis le raid contre Ben Laden, ces frappes se sont intensifiées et généralisées.

De pair avecla guerre des drones, le rôle de la CIA a été renforcé. Tout comme ces derniers,la CIA est invisible. Elle peut pourchasser et tuer dans un pays sans que saprésence soit officielle. Tandis que l’armée utilise nos drones en Afghanistan,la CIA s’en sert au Pakistan. Il semble que nous ayons été autorisés à lancercertaines de nos missions de drones sur le Pakistan depuis des bases situées au sein du pays.

Mais cettesituation pourrait changer. Le raid contre Ben Laden, ainsi qu’un incident meurtrier impliquant un agent américain au sein du Pakistan, ont fragiliséla relation entre les Etats-Unis et le Pakistan. Plutôt que d’enquêter sur les agentspakistanais pouvant avoir contribué à abriter Ben Laden, le Pakistan a arrêtédes personnes qu’il soupçonnait d’avoir aidé les Etats-Unis à monter le raid. Ila également mis fin à un programme américain destiné à former les troupes pakistanaises àlutter contre al-Qaida. Et la CIA a découvert que des insurgés étaient avertis des échanges derenseignements entre les Etats-Unis et le Pakistan.

Les drones, ces alliés de métal | Slate.fr

Les Etats-Unisse préparent donc à poursuivre la lutte contre le terrorisme sans l’aide duPakistan. La solution de rechange est de transférer nos drones vers des basesafghanes et de lesenvoyer au Pakistan depuis ces bases. Lors de notre retrait d’Afghanistan, nouslaisserions nos drones en place. Nous pourrions ainsi continuer de lutter contre al-Qaida dans les deux pays, même sans hommessur le terrain.

Le mêmescénario se joue au Yémen. Avec le déclin, puis la mort de Ben Laden, al-Qaidadans la péninsule arabique, dirigé par l’islamiste radical Anwar al-Awlaki, estdevenu le chef d’orchestre des complotsterroristes contre les Etats-Unis. Le régime du Yémen, comme celui du Pakistan, préfère nous voir lutter contre cetennemi avec des drones qu’avec des forces terrestres.

Jusqu’àprésent, c’est l’armée américaine qui a mené la guerre des drones au Yémen.Mais cette dernière a commis plusieurs erreurs. D’abord, elle a mal identifiéune cible et tué un émissaire yéménite. Elle a ensuite essayé à troisreprises d’atteindre Anwar al-Awlak, sans succès. Mais le principal problèmeconcerne l’effondrement du régime yéménite, qui a anéanti la collaboration avec les forcesaméricaines. Sesopposants politiques veulent prendre le pouvoir et mettre un terme aux opérations militaires américaines.

LesEtats-Unis s’apprêtent donc à suivre la même stratégie de non-sortie. Ilsenvoient de nouveaux officiers de la CIA au Yémen et chargent l’agence demener une action militaire renforcée en envoyant des drones depuisl’extérieur.

Juridiquementparlant, l’armée américaine a besoin du consentement du gouvernement concernépour mener une guerre des drones. Pas la CIA. La guerre peut être dissimuléesous l’euphémisme d’opérations de renseignements et «d’intervention secrète».Le Yémen n’a pas non plus besoin d’abriter des drones. Nous pouvons leur fairepasser la frontière depuis les airs, comme au Pakistan. Nous lançons déjà desmissions de drones sur le Yémen depuis Djibouti.

Selon certains rapports, nous construisons actuellement unebase de la CIA à l’extérieur duYémen, à partirde laquelle nous pourrions mener une guerre des drones dans ce pays, sans sonconsentement. Les autorités américaines tiennent la localisation exacte de labase secrète, mais il serait logique qu’elle soit en Arabie saoudite, où sera situé le réseau de collecte de renseignements des drones.La base pourrait accueillir une flotte dedrones plus importante que celle de l’aérodrome de Djibouti, où la capacitélimitée des pistes a restreint le nombre de missions de drones.

Nous envoyons également des drones en Libye. Mais nous menons un conflitmilitaire ouvert dans ce pays, de concert avec l’OTAN, à la différence de nosactivités au Pakistan et au Yémen, qui sont clandestines. Nous utilisons desdrones plutôt que des troupes au sol. Nous n’envoyons même pas de pilotes quipourraient se faire descendre. Nous chargeons la CIA de faire la guerre pour nepas avoir à respecter les lois en la matière. Et nous construisons des bases àl’extérieur du pays pour pouvoir contrôler toute l’opération à distance, saufla collecte de renseignements sur les cibles, dont la CIA se charge.

Pourcouronner le tout, nous nommons l’ancien directeur de la CIA, Leon Panetta, à la tête de l’armée américaine. Et le commandant des forcesinternationales en Afghanistan, David Petraeus, à la tête de la CIA. La CIA et les drones sont l’équipe du futur. Ilssont le nouveau visage d’une guerre sans visage.

Il n’y arien de diabolique là-dedans. C’est une évolution logique. Avec son réseau decellules terroristes répandues au sein d’Etats en déliquescence, al-Qaida estune organisation conçue pour échapper aux pratiques conventionnelles de laguerre. Nous évoluons à notre tour pour lutter contre cette nouvelle menace.

Dans un monde où règne le chaos politique, où la puissance américaine est endéclin, les alliés instables, les amis peu dignes de confiance et les ennemisn’obéissent à aucune règle, nous développons une nouvelle forme de guerre quenous pouvons mener depuis des bases aériennes régionales, avec des machines àtuer dans les airs alimentées par des réseaux humains secrets sur le terrain.Ce qui est effrayant, ce n’est pas que cela puisse marcher, mais que cela nemarche pas.

WilliamSaletan

Traduit par Charlotte Laigle

Lectures recommandées par l'auteur:

Mots clés: